For my Valentine

In honor of Saint Valentine, Patron Saint of lovers, happy marriages and bee keepers, I wanted to write a quick post about my wedding song. At our lovely reception in Georgetown, Maine, my wife and I danced to “Treasures Untold” as recorded by “The Father of Country Music” himself, Jimmie Rodgers. The song is a beautiful little waltz with a lovely slide guitar part. We had a wonderful band in The Hunger Mountain Boys and Teddy Weber (of late to be found in The Wiyos) played those dobro parts beautifully.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours! And may your honey bee continue to bring you sweetness!

 

Postscript: I recently learned that it was the uncle of late, great dobro player Mike Auldridge who played dobro on those Jimmie Rodgers RCA recordings. The talent obviously ran in the family.

This entry was posted in Bluegrass & Old-Time, Country Music, Guitar, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment